|
Topic: UBC- Ultimatum remove poor review
|
 |
26/9/2016 at 11:37pm
Location: None Entered Outfit: None Entered
View Profile
Reply
Quote
|
Joined: 23/9/2016 Standard Member
Forum Posts: 3
Site Reviews Total: | 0 |
|
Site Reviews 2025: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2024: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2023: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2022: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2021: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2020: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2019: | 0 |
|
Site Nights 2025: | 0 |
Site Nights 2024: | 0 |
Site Nights 2023: | 0 |
Site Nights 2022: | 0 |
Site Nights 2021: | 0 |
Site Nights 2020: | 0 |
Site Nights 2019: | 0 |
|
I am new to the forum and wish to share my experiences of UBC sandy Lane Ncle. Where i bought my new 2016 Elddis crusader. I have tried to condense the post as to not sound like i am droning on 0:)
I have had a few issues with my Van i have named a few here (ic controller not set up, shelving pack missing, trims loose and fallen off, alloy wheels lacquer come off, internal water pump flickering on/off)
I must say I am understanding to the fact small issues may arise with any new van. I have even fixed trims back on my self. But the bits that require new parts or further investigation i would hope My selling dealer would help. And this is where the fault lies.
I have had nothing but disappointing and poor service from UBC, They had my caravan for 5 weeks this time and its still not fixed. No one returns your calls, no one seems to know what is happening when i called in.
I been told its ready to collect twice, turned up to find half the items have not even been looked at.
I even made an appointment with the service manager to sit and go though the issues i have for clarity.
As we were going away for the bank holi weekend, I needed my van back I went to collect the van to find they had lost my new caravan step, When i asked about it, the reply was, "are you sure it was there, we will need to check the CCTV footage" (5 weeks worth?)
I was so disappointed by the way i was treated I decided to put a review on Google.
My phone rang, Craig the service manger had been asked to call me. I was been asked to remove the review or told that my appointment to return for the reminder of the warranty work would be canceled and no further work would be done on my caravan.
Needless to say the review is still on for all to view. You can also view other customers negative reviews before and after mine with responses from UBC. Which i feel are (in my case) untrue, unprofessional and rude.
I did offer to add to my review after they had finished the work needed, I explained to Craig in service. I believe your destiny is in your own hands, I hope you can fix my van and show what sterling service you can give and i will write about it & that the poor service received to date was just a glitch.
But he declined to honor my forthcoming appointment unless my review was removed.
After given it some thought, I felt it more important to leave my review for others to veiw on and find alternative dealer.
My Hope by doing so is UBC stop slagging off their customers and stop trying to label them all as rogue individual. It seems to me that there is simply too many people saying the old things about the same old UBC dealer at sandy lane.
I hope they mend there ways and serve the the caravaning & camping community as Dealer should.
|
27/9/2016 at 8:03am
Location: Outfit:
View Profile
Reply
Quote
|
Joined: 25/1/2010 Diamond Member 
Forum Posts: 4530
Site Reviews Total: | 13 |
|
Site Reviews 2025: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2024: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2023: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2022: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2021: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2020: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2019: | 0 |
|
Site Nights 2025: | 0 |
Site Nights 2024: | 0 |
Site Nights 2023: | 0 |
Site Nights 2022: | 0 |
Site Nights 2021: | 0 |
Site Nights 2020: | 0 |
Site Nights 2019: | 0 |
|
Rock & a hard place, methinks. Would another main dealer take on the warranty work? What is Elddis relationship with their main dealers. Can they require any main dealer to do warranty work? It is possible they cannot. You need to find out.
If no main dealer will do warranty work on your caravan then I suppose legally you might have an argument that it is not fit for purpose because you have no means of maintaining it in a roadworthy state. So you would be entitled to refund although from what you say, unlikely this side of a court case. That route also leaves you with no caravan.
My guess is that they are snowed under with disgruntled customer's warranty work & cannot cope. I doubt they can find staff with sufficient skill to do the work anyway.
A large Swift dealer near me is chucking in their franchise because there is no profit in selling new caravans for a franchise that cares about it's customers.
I guess the way forward for now would be to withdraw the review & then try to mend fences with your dealer. If you fail then go for not fit for purpose.
|
Discounted Insurance Quotes for UKCampsite.co.uk visitors! Up to 12.5% off! |
|
|
27/9/2016 at 11:21am
Location: Worcestershire Outfit: Buccaneer Cruiser
View Profile
Reply
Quote
|
Joined: 30/6/2004 Diamond Member 
Forum Posts: 4124
Site Reviews Total: | 5 |
|
Site Reviews 2025: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2024: | 1 |
Site Reviews 2023: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2022: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2021: | 1 |
Site Reviews 2020: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2019: | 0 |
|
Site Nights 2025: | 0 |
Site Nights 2024: | 5 |
Site Nights 2023: | 0 |
Site Nights 2022: | 0 |
Site Nights 2021: | 10 |
Site Nights 2020: | 0 |
Site Nights 2019: | 0 |
|
If your caravan is on HP approach the finance company with your concerns. If bought after October 2015 the Consumer Rights Act 2015 kicks in to protect you and it clearly states reasonable time and also gives you the right to reject the caravan. Worth think about and then finding another dealer.
|
30/9/2016 at 8:38pm
Location: Northumberland Outfit: Knaus Sudwind 550 TK
View Profile
Reply
Quote
|
Joined: 06/1/2013 Diamond Member 
Forum Posts: 2130
Site Reviews Total: | 7 |
|
Site Reviews 2025: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2024: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2023: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2022: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2021: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2020: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2019: | 1 |
|
Site Nights 2025: | 0 |
Site Nights 2024: | 0 |
Site Nights 2023: | 0 |
Site Nights 2022: | 0 |
Site Nights 2021: | 0 |
Site Nights 2020: | 0 |
Site Nights 2019: | 7 |
|
You say they rang and asked to remove the review from Google??
How much time passed between the review posting and then them ringing...??
(As if they knew the review was coming...)
So they've got time to sit in a office (coffee / feet up??)and read reviews, than to deal with people..?
Not keen on the place either, don't feel welcome unless we're parting with thousands of £££ and not just a few quid for parts accessories etc...
------------- Damned if I do...
Damned if I don't!!!!
|
01/10/2016 at 10:44am
Location: Staithes Outfit: Vantage Neo
View Profile
Reply
Quote
|
Joined: 12/5/2013 Platinum Member 
Forum Posts: 502
Site Reviews Total: | 0 |
|
Site Reviews 2025: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2024: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2023: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2022: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2021: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2020: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2019: | 0 |
|
Site Nights 2025: | 0 |
Site Nights 2024: | 0 |
Site Nights 2023: | 0 |
Site Nights 2022: | 0 |
Site Nights 2021: | 0 |
Site Nights 2020: | 0 |
Site Nights 2019: | 0 |
|
Looked at reviews.
Not sure the whole exchange has been recorded here
|
01/10/2016 at 11:53am
Location: Buckinghamshire Outfit: VW Campers and Tents
View Profile
Reply
Quote
|
Joined: 09/6/1999 Forum Admin 
Forum Posts: 7680 Tent Reviews: 3
Site Reviews Total: | 84 |
|
Site Reviews 2025: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2024: | 2 |
Site Reviews 2023: | 1 |
Site Reviews 2022: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2021: | 18 |
Site Reviews 2020: | 13 |
Site Reviews 2019: | 21 |
|
Site Nights 2025: | 0 |
Site Nights 2024: | 6 |
Site Nights 2023: | 1 |
Site Nights 2022: | 0 |
Site Nights 2021: | 33 |
Site Nights 2020: | 24 |
Site Nights 2019: | 44 |
|
Just in case some of you cannot find it or read the actual review the response from UBC, here it below is from Google; I make no comment, merely post it for your consideration:
Review
First of all i would like to say I have never reviewed a place online before and I have thought long and hard about putting a negative review on here. But feel I must to help others who may be a potential customer of UBC. I wish I had listened to advice given to me and NOT gone there myself.
I bought a brand new caravan from UBC and its been a disaster from the start. I have a number of small issues with my new van, which i am ok with. All i have asked is that they are put right.
Following their failed attempts to fix trims that had fallen off, I have now done it myself. I spoke with Alde & Whale customer services (which are great) to set up the caravans heating & water systems correctly as UBC failed to do this on Pre delivery inspection "PDI"
(But they have tick a boxes on the form to say its was done. They also ticked boxes on the form for items not even related to my model?)
My problem lies solely with the absolutely poor customer service and incompetence of the staff and mangers. They have had my caravan for 5 weeks now and still not fixed it.The last straw for me and the reason I decided to put a review on is that, they lost my caravan step and blamed me for it.
My advice would be not to purchase anything from UBC and try other dealers in the area, which have more positive reviews. I hope this helps other thanks.
PART 2 UPDATE:
further to my review left. I wish to update following response from UBC.
Since my review was left I was contacted by Service manager Craig Campbell. I was given an Ultimatum, as follows.
Remove your review or we will cancel your appointment to come back and have your warranty work finished off and UBC will not carry out any further work on my caravan.
Needless to say, i have NOT cancelled my review. I thought it was more important that others see the way they treat their customers.
I can see that other customers before and after me have also experienced problems & left negative reviews and the response given by UBC is shocking, rude and unprofessional, for me this speaks for its self.
Response from the owner (business owner)
Using Google reviews as a way of stamping your feet to get your own way is not really the way forward. The reason we had your caravan for 5 weeks was because you would not come and pick it up, despite it working correctly. Thankfully you have now collected your caravan and agree that it all works as it should. You fail to mention that it is not your first caravan from us and that you were over the moon previously, but we do not condone any sort of bullying and therefore wish you all the best for the future in any subsequent purchases you make elsewhere. Please listen to the instructions given on handover next time as modern caravans can be quite complex and just flipping switches does not guarantee results.
-------------
|
01/10/2016 at 9:12pm
Location: Northumberland Outfit: Knaus Sudwind 550 TK
View Profile
Reply
Quote
|
Joined: 06/1/2013 Diamond Member 
Forum Posts: 2130
Site Reviews Total: | 7 |
|
Site Reviews 2025: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2024: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2023: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2022: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2021: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2020: | 0 |
Site Reviews 2019: | 1 |
|
Site Nights 2025: | 0 |
Site Nights 2024: | 0 |
Site Nights 2023: | 0 |
Site Nights 2022: | 0 |
Site Nights 2021: | 0 |
Site Nights 2020: | 0 |
Site Nights 2019: | 7 |
|
Did the 'business owner' do some RESEARCH on how to respond in a 'try to shoot you down' way...?
Failed miserably...!
------------- Damned if I do...
Damned if I don't!!!!
|
|